Curl Kit Contents

So I went through what was in the CurlKit for April but I really didn’t detail what each product is like. My bad on that one, sorry guys!  I’m going to give a quick over view on each product that I received and my thoughts on them.

CurlKit Haul

CurlKit Haul

First up is the Ampro Pro Styl Vitamin E, something that I just used yesterday actually. I had mentioned in my post on protective styling yesterday that it has a really nice smell to it. I found out that it’s because there is grape seed oil in the mix here! I also found out that a little bit goes a long way with this product. I used the recommended quarter sized amount and there was still oil on my hands afterwards. In my opinion, this is perfect for sealing in the summer time when butters are too thick.

Next on the list is the Ori Essentials Leave In Conditioner, which is also paraben, sulfate, and phthalate free. I know that a few people who had reviewed this in their April unboxing had a runny, almost curdled milk-like product. Mine actually came in the intended form and was very creamy. The thickness of the product reminds me of the Cantu Repair Leave In that’s been my staple since last December. It doesn’t have much of a smell to it but I’m fine with that. I really don’t want to overwhelm my hair with too many different smelling products so this might be a good choice if some of your other products have a strong scent. I haven’t had the chance to test out the actual moisturizing properties of this product yet but hopefully it lives up to the promise.

As for the Amazing Botanicals AloeMint Spritz, this product is basically all oil with the addition of water. You have to gently shake the bottle in order to mix the product correctly before application. I’ve applied this to hair sprayed lightly with water this morning and I haven’t really noticed a difference in the overall quality of my hair as of yet. I can’t really attest to the sealing qualities of this product but it might be something that’s good for summer time use. The mint scent is very light but I’m not sure how useful all of the other oils are in this product.

The other oil that came with this kit is the Honey Curls Hair Honey Oil Blend. And, oh boy, does it smell like honey. It’s subtle but it’s there. All of the ingredients are a series of essential oils and a few that I’ve never heard of, like karanji and borage oil. I haven’t quite figured out how to use it yet but I found this useful video on the Honey Curls website, as taught by an adorable little girl:

Lastly, we have the Naturalista Cosmetics Sweet Ambrosia Leave In Conditioner. This is the product that had the strongest scent, almost reeking of vanilla cake. I used it last night and the smell doesn’t last too long, although I wouldn’t mind if it did because I kind of like it.

naturalista leave in

It’s creamier than the Ori Essentials Leave In but it does not spread as easily, even when using a wide-toothed comb. Not sure how I feel about this one yet. My hair was dry when I woke up this morning and I had to refresh with my water bottle. It smells nice but that’s all that this product really has going for it in my opinion.

The samples of hair gel that came with the kit are things that I will not be using, like I said before I will be giving it to my mother. She’s just as much of a product junkie that I am and has no qualms about mineral oil in her products. So that’s it for my CurlKit review thus far. I haven’t gotten the Karen’s Body Beautiful yet but I’ll be sure to review that whenever it comes in the mail.

Leave a comment